This bill also provides that an employees right to bereavement leave is to be construed as separate and distinct from any other right employees have under the CFRA. The CPRA also establishes a new agency, the California Privacy Protection Agency, which is responsible for implementing and enforcing the law, including issuing potential fines of $2,500 per violation and $7,500 per intentional violation. All employers with operations in California should be aware of these new laws, understand how these laws may affect their operations and consult with counsel to address any compliance questions, including whether existing employment policies should be updated or whether new employment policies should be created. In October, Gov. Under existing law the CalSavers Retirement Savings Trust Act, administered by the CalSavers Retirement Savings Board (CalSavers Board) employers with five or more employees that do not sponsor a retirement plan are required to participate in CalSavers and offer a payroll deposit retirement savings arrangement so that eligible employees may contribute a portion of their salary or wages to a retirement savings program account in the program. The program will take effect in phases depending on where you live. Gov. You have to complete all the drive cycles, then complete the readiness internal engine test. For the purposes of the act, cover up means a concerted effort to hide evidence relating to a sexual assault that incentivizes individuals to remain silent or prevents information relating to a sexual assault from becoming public or being disclosed to the plaintiff, including, but not limited to, the use of nondisclosure agreements or confidentiality agreements.. New California Laws for 2021 Every year, hundreds of new laws are enacted that impact California automotive repair dealers. 1.1.3 Smog Check Laws and Regulations . The DMV will not renew placards for people who do not respond. The word will be replaced with words like noncitizen or immigrant. Gov. This bill amends Section 67385 of, and adds Section 89033 to, the Education Code. 50% of the amount by which the disposable earnings for the week exceed 40 times the state minimum hourly wage (or, the local minimum hourly wage, if greater than the state minimum hourly wage). This bill makes a number of revisions to the Government Code, Labor Code and the Revenue and Taxation Code. Existing law provides that a licensed contractors willful or deliberate disregard of various state building, labor and safety laws constitutes a cause of disciplinary action by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB). Further, this bill provides that it does not affect the rights or obligations of an employer to maintain a drug- and alcohol-free workplace [] or any other rights or obligations of an employer specified by federal law or regulation.. Under the federal Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) and the California Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (Cal/WARN), covered employers are required to comply with various obligations, including providing 60 days notice of plant closings/terminations, relocations or mass layoffs. SB 1138 requires the Employment Development Department (EDD) to conduct a feasibility study that examines the idea of extending unemployment insurance benefits to self-employed individuals. The California Department of Public Health will also no longer be required to post workplace information received from local public health departments about COVID-19 cases and outbreaks. Documentation includes, but is not limited to, a death certificate, a published obituary or written verification of death, burial, or memorial services from a mortuary, funeral home, burial society, crematorium, religious institution or governmental agency. Veteran Designation on Drivers Licenses (SB 837, Umberg). This bill amends Section 12945.2 of the Government Code and Section 245.5 of the Labor Code. This bill amends Section 1406 of, amends/renumbers/adds to Section 1400 of, and adds Section 1409 to, the Labor Code. Gavin Newsom signed many laws impacting California employers. model year.This bill instead would also exempt from the biennial smog check program inspections all motor vehicles manufactured prior to the 1983 model-year. STAR inspections will vary in price a little depending on the location or your automobile. This bill amends Section 96 of, and adds Part 4.5.5 (commencing with Section 1470) to Division 2 of, the Labor Code. 15553 Los Gatos Blvd. This bill amends, repeals and adds Section 706.050 of the Code of Civil Procedure. Existing law requires employers to provide notice to the local public health agency in the event of a COVID-19 outbreak. This bill also expands the definition of family member under the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (aka the CA Paid Sick Leave Law) to include a designated person. Similar to the provisions of the CFRA discussed above, for purposes of the CA Paid Sick Leave Law, the employee may identify the designated person at the time the employee requests paid sick days and the employer may limit an employee to one designated person per 12-month period for paid sick days. That means youll need to ask for chopsticks for your takeout sushi or a ketchup packet for your fries if you dont have those things at home. Your vehicle does not need a smog inspection if your: Gasoline-powered vehicle is a 1975 year model or older (This includes motorcycles and trailers.) . The law affects public schools with grades 6 through 12, community colleges, and public universities. Another law passed in 2021 (AB 3, Fong) allows courts to suspend an individuals drivers license for violating this ban beginning on July 1, 2025. As a reminder, the minimum wage in California is increasing to $15.50 per hour on January 1, 2023, for all employers regardless of the number of workers employed by an employer. The laws listed below take effect on January 1, 2023, unless otherwise noted. If it takes you some time to get used to it, dont stress fines wont start being issued until 2024. If any questions arise related to the information contained in the translated website, please refer to the English version. This bill amends Sections 100000 and 100032 of the Government Code. The smog check program requires inspection of motor vehicles upon initial registration, biennially upon renewal of registration, upon transfer of ownership, and in certain other circumstances. After the initial Referee inspection, future Smog Check inspections can be obtained at a regular Smog Check station. Handbooks Learn the laws and rules of the road in preparation for your drive and . Existing law includes in the definition of public works under certain circumstances the hauling of refuse from a public works site to an outside disposal location. This training must cover information included in the posting discussed above and additional information such as the contact information of a Title IX coordinator or a similar position and specified statistics on the prevalence of sexual harassment and sexual violence in the educational setting, and the differing rates at which students experience sexual harassment and sexual assault in the educational setting based on their race, sexual orientation, disability, gender and gender identity. This law exempts vehicles registered to veterans displaying specialized license plates from paying tolls on roads, bridges, highways, vehicular crossings, or other toll facilities. This bill also requires the Cal/OSHA standards board to review the proposed changes and consider adopting revised standards on or before December 31, 2025. Further, it changes the basis upon which the Secretary of State may remove a participant from the program. Here is the Bureau of Automotive Repairs (BAR) official explanation of the ruling: Beginning July 19, 2021, vehicles (note, this means ALL vehicles, not just cars and trucks) with software not provided by the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or approved through a California Air Resource Board (CARB) Executive Order (EO) will fail the smog test. January 3, 2022 - Legislature reconvened. California concealed carry: Legislators to change rules- CalMatters Criminal Justice California's change to concealed carry permits would reduce wide variations among counties by Ben Christopher June 29, 2022 Updated July 1, 2022 Revolvers for sale at a gun store in Oceanside on April 12, 2021. The minimum for businesses with 25 or fewer employees bumps to $14 with the new year and will increase to $15 per hour on Jan. 1, 2023. This bill reaffirms that the employer must make such tests available at no cost to the employees, but that the employer may decline to provide SPSL benefits where the employee refuses to provide documentation of test results or refuses to submit to a test. Newsom acts prior to January 1, 2023, the CPRA eliminates employer exemptions in the CCPA applicable to employee/applicant data and expands on several areas of the CCPA, and creates several privacy-related obligations for employers, including: (1) notifying applicants, employees and contractors about the categories of personal information that is or may be collected by the employer, and describing the purpose(s) for the collection and disclosure of such information, and providing information regarding the sharing and retention of personal information, (2) employees rights to access or restrict the use or disclosure of certain categories of personal information, (3) employees rights to correct or delete personal information (subject to statutory exemptions that may apply), and (4) employees rights to request the personal information that has been collected about them during the preceding 12 months. Apply for a license or ID card (including REAL ID). Need plates? They also cant be used against someone just because theyve violated an imposed curfew, verbal threat, or noncompliance with a law enforcement directive.. Preparing for a standard, commercial, or motorcycle knowledge test? In 2022, California Gov. Gavin Newsom said the word alien has fueled a divisive and hurtful narrative and this change will allow state laws to better reflect state values. The list below is in numerical order by AB or SB. Some of the new laws became effective immediately and others, including some that were signed into law just weeks ago, take effect January 1, 2023, or later. 4 and Wage Order No. In a nutshell, the change directly impacts owners who have modified their California-registered vehicles ECMsand not retained the stock calibration. Under existing law an injury for Workers Compensation purposes includes illness or death resulting from COVID-19 under certain circumstances. Existing law requires that contractors and subcontractors furnish the Labor Commissioner with payroll records concerning public works projects, which include construction, alteration, demolition, installation or repair work done under contract and paid for, in whole or in part, out of public funds. Family member means a spouse or a child, parent, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, domestic partner or parent-in-law (the same definition of family member under CFRA). In 2022, California Gov. Drivers are now required to change into another available lane, when possible, to pass cyclists, building on the current requirement for drivers to give cyclists at least three feet of space when passing. Vehicle Retirement Incentives The third area of change in 2021 involves vehicles that do not pass smog testing. A new, rebuilt, remanufactured, or used engine of the same make, number of cylinders, and engine family (test group) as the original engine with the original emission controls reinstalled; An engine which matches a configuration offered by the manufacturer for that year, make and model of vehicle, and the appropriate emission controls for the installed engine, and chassis components are present and connected. Covered businesses or establishments can be liable for a civil penalty of $500 for a first offense, and $1,000 for each subsequent offense for their failure to comply. The California smog laws on engine swaps (or engine changes) are consistent with common sense, safety, and emissions reduction. Change of Ownership Area 1976-1999 model-year vehicles are subject to a two-speed idle emissions test. Previously, 1,600 was required for cosmetologists and 1,500 was required for barbers. Use caution when using a public computer or device. In enacting this bill, the California legislature specifically stated that it is the intent of the Legislature to restore the holding of O. G. Sansone Co. v. Department of Transportation (1976) 55 Cal.App.3d 434, and its subsequent interpretations, as it relates to the on hauling of materials used for paving, grading, and fill onto a public works site. OR. Minimum wage bump Businesses with 26 or more employees will be required to pay a $15 minimum. A recently approved law should be of specific interest to diesel RV owners. AB 152 took immediate effect upon its enactment on September 29, 2022. Registration With a Name Change; 12.135 Out-of-State California Resident; 12.140 Previous Registration in California; 12.145 Privileges of Nonresidents . or is initially registered in California. This temporary online option has helped Californians avoid DMV field offices during the COVID-19 pandemic. Under existing law, prenatal care, delivery service, postpartum care and neonatal and infant care are essential services necessary to assure maternal and infant health. These are typically between $29.95 and $59.95 plus the state fee. Please note that the summary below does not address all new California laws that impact employers or employees; rather, it is a summary of the new California laws that we believe to be the most significant in terms of scope and impact of individuals or employers with business operations in California. 20% of the individual's disposable earnings for that week. This bill amends Sections 1005, 1013 and 1167 of the Code of Civil Procedure, and amends Sections 6206, 6206.7, 6208.1, 6208.2, and 6209.7 of, and adds Section 6206.1 to, the Government Code. This bill adds Section 512.1 to the Labor Code. Smog Check frequency requirements do not change after a vehicle has undergone an engine change. Advocates say it could help with the states housing crisis by making it easier to add more units of housing. The DMV chatbot and live chat services use third-party vendors to provide machine translation. The employer must maintain the confidentiality of any employee requesting bereavement leave and any documentation the employee provides to the employer must be maintained as confidential and shall not be disclosed except to internal personnel or counsel, as necessary, or as required by law. Although the new order is all-encompassing and doesnt target one particular vehicle, its very hard to think modified diesel trucks are not near the top of the hit list or main target. It requires that breeding pigs, egg-laying chickens and veal calves have enough room to stand and turn around. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Should the subpoena recipient object to the subpoena, the subpoena recipient must serve objections and meet and confer with the subpoena issuer to attempt to resolve the objections. If the employer does not have an existing bereavement leave policy, the bereavement leave may be unpaid; but the employee may use vacation, personal leave, accrued and available sick leave or compensatory time off that is otherwise available to the employee. This bill amends Sections 6325 and 6409.6 of the Labor Code. The material contained in this communication is informational, general in nature and does not constitute legal advice. Starting Jan. 1, the state is launching a pilot program that will allow people to collect and eat roadkill. document.getElementById( "ak_js_1" ).setAttribute( "value", ( new Date() ).getTime() ); Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. Cal/OSHA must also consider revising the wildfire smoke standard with regard to farmworkers. This prohibition does not apply to certain groups of employees enumerated in the text of the bill, including but not limited to first responders, employees required by law to render aid or remain on the premises in case of an emergency, and employees whose primary duties include assisting members of the public to evacuate in case of an emergency. Senate Bill 803 cuts down how much training is required of barbers and cosmetologists to 1,000 hours. Cities and counties will start enforcing this new law on June 1, 2022. See all 13 photos. Electric vehicles. Starting Jan. 1, terminally ill patients wont have to wait as long to request fatal drugs. Subject to an appropriation of funds by the Legislature, AB 2420 requires the CDPH, in consultation with subject matter experts, to: This bill adds Section 123576 to the Health and Safety Code. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated. This bill amends Section 340.16of the Code of Civil Procedure. Sacramento The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) wants Californians to be aware of several new laws taking effect in the new year. AB 2777, which is also known as the Sexual Abuse and Cover Up Accountability Act, provides that actions commenced on or after January 1, 2019 and based on conduct that occurred on or after January 1, 2009, will not be time-barred, even if the 10-year statute of limitations has expired, provided that such claims are commenced by December 31, 2026. From then on, the wage will rise annually based on inflation.. Existing law generally vests jurisdiction over violations in the Public Employment Relations Board (PERB). What documents do you need to get an AB 60 license? New California Laws for 2023 and Beyond: What Employers Should Know | Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, Were not going to get into the minutiae of all 770 bills signed into law during the last legislative cycle (sorry, but also youre welcome), but we are breaking down some of the highlights. The regulations also increase repair assistance contributions to between $900 and $1200 depending on the vehicle's model year. Any discrepancies or differences created in the translation are not binding and have no legal effect for compliance or enforcement purposes. Its very important to remember this: The ECM itself is an emissions control device. Dealers and manufacturers that sell new passenger vehicles equipped with a partial driving automation feature or provide any software update or vehicle upgrade that adds such a feature are required to give a clear description of its functions and limitations. Engine replacements are not required to be inspected at the BAR Referee. Middle schools and high schools will soon be required to start class no earlier than 8 a.m. and 8:30 a.m., respectively. Notable Changes in 2023 State and Federal anti-tampering laws specifically prohibit any modification to the vehicle's original emission control system configuration as certified by the manufacturer (California Vehicle Code section 27156 and Title 16, Section 3362.1 of the California Code of Regulations). Youll have to report the find and secure a permit before digging in, but the state is required to create an online and mobile-friendly way to do that. The State of California Engine Change Guidelines are contained within the Smog Check Reference Guide. In addition, the California Privacy Rights and Enforcement Act (CPRA), which amends the prior California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA), takes effect on January 1, 2023. While some states do not yet necessarily . In retrospect, its the most important one in the vehicle. Our online ordering system makes it easy. Enhanced Safeguards for Bicycle Riders (AB 1909, Friedman). It increases the vehicle retirement option to $1,500 for low-income owners and $1,000 for all others. AB 1601 expands the notice requirements of Cal/WARN to a call center employer that intends to relocate its call center. 1156.37, 1160.10 and 1162 to the Labor Code. Together, the two rules are expected to avoid 8,400 premature .